Palace Under the Sign of the Rams in Kraków

 

Home > What to see > Old Town > Palace Under the Sign of the Rams


Palace Under the Sign of the Rams (Palac Pod Baranami) is situated on the Main Market Square between St Anny and Szewska Streets. This special name of the palace has origin in its history. According to tradition, in medieval times, there used to be a public house here with rams prepared for selling to inhabitants of Krakow.


The building was known in 16th century as Sub Agnes after a sculpture on the building that showed a single ram's head on the corner shared by two ram's bodies, one on each wall. Palace changed its owners many times and hosted many celebrities, princes, kings throughout ages. The original rams were removed by subsequent renovations, but the name remained and in 19th century when new Classicist facade was made, three rams' heads appeared again over the entrance. During the Second World War, Palac pod Baranami became a seat of administration of Nazi's Krakow District. In 1956 a famous cabaret group was assigned here with the same name as Palace and since 1969 a small but renowned cinema has been operating in Palace's building.



« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK