Pauline Church on the Rock in Krakow

 

Home > What to see > Kazimierz Jewish Quarter > Pauline Church on the Rock


Today's Pauline Church on the Rock was built in 1733 – 1742 by Gerhard Muntzer and Antoni Solari. However the story of this place started much earlier. Skalka (Rock/Cliff) was a pagan religious centre before Christianity came to Poland. Later in the 11th century Romanesque rotunda of St Michael was built here.


When this area was incorporated to Krakow by Kazimierz the Great, he funded new, Gothic church which stood here until was torn down in 1733. Today's church contains some relics of St Stanislaw – Patron Saint of Poland like wooden beam on which the saint's body was hacked to pieces and a piece of wall, spattered with blood. The interior includes Baroque stuccowork by Jan Lehnert. Below the church there is a Crypt of the Worthy – a pantheon to Polish artists and writers. Most famous names of those who lie here include: Jacek Malczewski (painter), Henryk Siemiradzki (painter), Jozef Ignacy Kraszewski (poet and writer), Adam Asnyk (poet), Wincenty Pol (geographer and poet), Stanislaw Wyspianski (writer), Karol Szymanowski (composer) and medieval chronicler – Jan Dlugosz.



« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK