Outside the Centre

 

The Divine Mercy Sanctuary Lagiewniki


more
It is placed in Lagiewniki, a district of Krakow. It's the World Center of veneration of the image of the Divine Mercy also the resting place of Saint Faustina Kowalska. The Sanctuary is located in buildings of monastery of the Congregation of the Sisters of Our Lady of Mercy, which was founded in 1891.

Church of St Benedict


more
The Church of St Benedict was built high on the edge of a rocky cliff of the Krzemionki in the District of Podgorze. The church has been rebuilt several times and its Baroque shape was finalised in 1598. It is particularly beautiful in spring when the fruit trees are in flower.

Premonstratensian Church


more
The Premonstratensian Nuns’ Church and Cloister was founded in 1162 on the banks of the Vistula river in Zwierzyniec (today district of Krakow). This location was not accidental, convent guarded the main road from the west to Krakow and was fortified. However it was conquered and destroyed many times by invaders...

Kosciuszko’s Mound


more
Tadeusz Kosciuszko was a Polish – Lithuanian general and military leader who led the Kosciuszko Uprising (unsuccessful) against Russia and the Kingdom of Prussia in 1794. Before he also fought in American Revolutionary War as a colonel in the Continental Army.

Krak’s Mound


more
Mound of Krak is located on the top of Lasota Hill on the right bank of Vistula river in Podgorze. It is 16 meters high from its foundation. Its founders and time of creation remain unknown. According to famous chronicler Jan Dlugosz, it was built for the legendary founder of Krakow, king Krak.

Ghetto Walls


more
Fragments of the wall of Jewish Ghetto in Krakow survived in two places. One is just around the corner from Podgorze Cemetery, behind the school at 62 Limanowskiego Street. Second one is located between 25 and 29 Lwowska Street, not far from Limanowskiego Street. Ghetto was established in March 1941, its walls were...

Schindler’s Factory Museum


more
This factory was actually factory of “Rekord limited” company which was built in 1938. It produced enamelled pots and pans. During the Second World War, in March 1939, Oskar Schindler took over the factory and changed its name into Deutsche Emailwarenfabrik (DEF).

Podgorski Cemetery


more
Podgorski Cemetery was founded shortly after village was given city status in 1784. Its unusual feature is that it does not have separate sections for Protestants and Roman Catholics. It was enlarged in 1838 and 1895 but as it still had problems to fit new graves, a new cemetery was created nearby in 1900.

Podgorski Market Square


more
History of Podgorze starts in 1784 when Emperor Joseph II established free town of Podgorze. It was separated from Kazimierz Quarter and Old Town by Vistula river. It was incorporated to Krakow in 1915 and since then it is just one of its districts.

Decjusz Villa


more
Decjusz Villa is situated in Wola Justowska – residential and one of most luxurious district of Krakow. Name of villa and district comes from Justus Decjusz the Elder – an Alsatian German humanist who worked in Poland and became influential person in Krakow.

Rakowicki Cemetery


more
Rakowicki Cemetery is the biggest and the best known cemetery in Krakow, located 3 kilometers northeast from the city centre. It is surrounded by a beautiful park. It was built in 1803 when Krakow was under rule of Habsburg Empire. It filled up quickly and was doubled in size by 1836.
 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK